Wander Through History. Create Memories for the Future.
We invite the public to explore the magnificent grounds of the Prallsville Mills complex and take advantage of the many cultural and community events year-round. Guided tours of this historic landmark are available by appointment. The gallery of photos below offers a sneak peak at the many fascinating nooks and crannies you will find. To schedule a tour, call 609-397-3586.
Our spectacular facilities are also available for private events, including weddings and other special occasions, corporate meetings and networking events, lectures and workshops, and more. The Mill is a popular wedding venue for couples looking for a unique setting in a scenic location.
The Grist Mill
The Grist Mill, considered the heart of the Prallsville Mills complex, is one of the most beloved buildings in the Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park. It is also one of the most sought-after historic wedding locations in the area. It's easy to see why.
The sprawling stone building still houses complex milling machines and delightful architectural details. Many of the various gears and wheels that once powered the mill operation remain intact today.
The building was last used as a grist mill in the 1950s, and then served as a lumberyard and feed store until acquired by the state of New Jersey in 1973.
The Saw Mill
The Saw Mill, which has existed intermittently on the site since 1750, has been beautifully restored to showcase its massive 9x12 hewn oak timbers and weatherboards. The building serves as a learning tool for 19th-century construction methods, and is a welcoming, open space, perfect for hosting art shows, receptions or other special events.
The Prall House
In 1790 John Prall Jr., who served as a lieutenant in the American Revolution, acquired 280 acres of land and transformed the area into a village of commercial, industrial and residential structures, including the stately stone residence. The Prall House features a large open hearth and a beehive oven, and a unique "summer wall" that is used to control temperatures indoors.
The Quarry House, River House and Outdoor Setting
The Quarry House has been renovated with a number of interesting recycled components, including wood from an abandoned canal boat, leaded glass windows and kitchen cabinet doors once used as church windows, and an island top used as part of the stage at St. Andrew’s Church in nearby Lambertville. The River House is used for office space and offers access to a new tent (not pictured here) for outdoor weddings and other events.